NFC Mini S4 - Pacific Northwest Edition

fjbruening

Chassis Packer
Original poster
Nov 30, 2016
Build #158

I've been wanting a windows box for a long time - I've been using macs at home for the last 10 years or so, and while I really like OS X, and Apple's macbooks, they've been getting more retarded, and given the latest rev of the macbook pro, I decided to use those funds to build myself a small PC (I know the two use cases are completely different, but I wanted something to play and learn on).

So I've been hanging out on the forums here for a while, and everyone has been super helpful. I'm not a HW engineer (I'm a DB developer actually) but I used to build my own boxes back in the 486 thru Pentium II era. I didn't want a space heater under my desk, and I liked the idea of a powerful machine in a small package - enter the S4.

My build

- Mini S4 w/ bulgin switch and riser from Josh
- ASUS Z170i PRO GAMING
- i5 6600 (nonK, but I wanted the Z MB for possible future OC'ing)
- EVGA 1060 Mini SC
- Pico 160w with the 192W? brick (the kit)
- Noctua L9i cooler
- Intel 600p 512G NvME M.2
- ancient Dell monitor for the time

My thinking was to start with a solid windows install (on the M.2), and then dink around with the hackintosh stuff and see how well I could get OSX to run. But I'm not there yet.

Initial Thoughts

1. What a beautiful case! Super build quality and lots of attention to detail
  2. The ASUS Z170I fit easily, the EVGA 1060 mini fit easy.
  3. The bulgin switch is tight aginst the Pico PSU - I don't like all the pressure they have against each other
  4. The cables from the Pico to the power plug is too short, I need to make this longer (see pics)
  5. The Pico peripheral cord to the EVGA 6Pin needs a custom cable (see pic).

Getting it Running