NFC S4 Mini #178 - Dusk

mtl171

Average Stuffer
Original poster
Nov 22, 2016
First off, thanks so much to @Josh | NFC, @1461748123, and so many others for answering many (if not all) of my stupid questions. Now without further break, I give you my build log (rather attempt)!

Hello everyone! This is my first build log for my first SFF PC. My main goal was to create a super tiny console sized PC which could hold and utilize modern hardware with little compromises. I ultimately settled on the S4 mini due to aesthetics and community support.

Parts list:
-Case: S4 Mini black + custom vandal switch
-CPU: Intel 7700K
-Heatsink/Thermal Compound: Noctua L9i + Noctua HT-H1
-Motherboard: MSI Z270I Gaming Pro Carbon AC
-Ram: Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 Mhz
-GPU: Zotac 1070 Mini (no backplate version)
-GPU fan adapter cable: Gelid CA-PWM-02
-PCI-E ribbon: NFC HDPlex PCIe
-SSD: Samsung 960 Evo
-Fan: Rosewill Ultraslim 120mm PWM (RASF141213)
-PSU: HDPlex 300W DC-DC nano atx + Dell DA330PM111 B
-Miscellaneous: 91% isopropyl alcohol, coffee filters, 1/4" nut driver, screw driver, KillAWatt, lots of coffee and good music
Overall the cost was around $~2200 for everything

Now for the pictures!

Overall, the assembly was not super complicated especially after watching Josh's full build video on Youtube. However, I did make some stupid mistakes like not figuring out which direction the fan blew or forgetting to remove studs from the front bezel to accomodate the bezel.

Parts critique:
-S4 mini: Was definitely tricky to build in at times (looking at you bezel studs) but ultimately worth it.
-MSI Z270i: the closeness of the 24 pin to the front bezel made HDplex locating a PITA. additionally the fan headers are hard to get to. otherwise it has a decent feature set and nice color scheme
-Noctua L9i: super easy to install. gets the job done when paired with a mild undervolt.
-Intel 7700k: probably shouldve just gone with a 7700 for heat output reasons