Cooling with HDD cage in V6

Daily Special

Minimal Tinkerer
Original poster
Nov 3, 2019
Hi all,
I'm hoping to get a discussion going on how to adequately cool two 3.5 hard drives in V6. Would a 92 mm exhaust be sufficient? or would it be better to change my CPU cooler from a top down (ex: Wraith Prism) to a tower (ex: Noctua U9S). Maybe do both? My thinking on the first option is that getting any exhaust would help, but I'm not sure how much it would help. I'm targeting operating temps under 50 C (is this a realistic target?)

I've looked around the forum and seen a lot of data comparing these two approaches without a HDD cage but haven't found any threads that specifically tackle this situation. I'm new to sff (love the NCASE) and am interested in this community's input.

Cheers

HyperActive

Cable-Tie Ninja
Jul 22, 2019
Would you be so kind to tell us your hardware? There's a big difference in heat between a non-gaming pc or gtx 1660 vs a full blown ryzen 9 3900x and rtx 2080ti.

Daily Special

Minimal Tinkerer
Original poster
Nov 3, 2019
Sure thing

I'm running a Ryzen 7 3700x with a Pulse 5700 XT. The drives in the cage are a pair of WD Reds. Any ideas on how I should go about cooling the drives?

HyperActive

Cable-Tie Ninja
Jul 22, 2019
Sure thing

I'm running a Ryzen 7 3700x with a Pulse 5700 XT. The drives in the cage are a pair of WD Reds. Any ideas on how I should go about cooling the drives?
Really hard to say what would keep the drives the coolest? Does that really matter for a hdd drive? I have the ryzen 7 3700x and strix rx 5700xt, which stay both quite cool. Check my post for more details on the temps in the comment under the pictures.