Will this build work with a 250w pico psu?

nktio

Case Bender
Original poster
Feb 20, 2019
www.nktio.com
Hello! So I'm building a SFF PC to use for interactive multimedia and performance projects, as well as a workstation for video and graphics editing. Running stuff like Max MSP, Processing, Ableton, Touch Designer, Unity, Maya, and After Effects + Adobe CC stuff, and hopefully doing a few of these things at once. It's not going to be used for AAA gaming, and I definitely don't intend to overclock it. My goal is to make it as compact as possible; hopefully about the size or smaller than an S4 Mini (i'll be building my own laser-cut/3D printed case); and cheap-- not much over $700, which so far I've managed by scoring some dealz. However, this is my first time building a computer, so I'm still learning the ropes!

Here's the build laid out in PC part picker (sans PSU):
https://pcpartpicker.com/list/j3JgWD

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 - (8W - 65W)
Noctua - NH-L9a-AM4 Cooler - (5W - 10W)
EVGA GTX 1060 6GB SC - (30W - 120W)
Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-3000 2x8GB (14W - 14W)
Crucial - P1 500 GB M.2-2280 - (2W - 10W)
Gigabyte GA-AB350N-Gaming WIFI (rev. 1.0) Mini ITX AM4 Motherboard

PC part picker puts the max load at around 219W, so I figured a 250W pico psu would suffice. I got this one:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/US-24Pin-D...e=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2649

and this 240W 12v power brick to go with it:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07M6D1X4M/?tag=theminutiae-20

After getting all the necessary parts, I realized I need a 6 pin connection in order for the GPU to work, so I just ordered this adapter to attach to the 4 pin connection on the pico's peripherals: https://www.ebay.com/itm/4-Pin-Mole...rd-Power-Converter-Adapter-Cable/112302427688