Music Production/Live performance PC Advice

Beatmachinery

Case Bender
Original poster
Nov 11, 2017
Hello! Im completely new with the concept of mini PCs.

I want to build a PC to perform live and I was thinking on the S4 case cause I could mount it inside a custom build rack , next to other gear.

I Use Ableton Live and I use E drums and a bunch of MIDI controllers , so my project is big (but not enormous) and I was thinking about getting a 8700k processor , 8700 or Maybe even a Ryzen one...

Im concerned about some facts :

First : Cooling... Could I use a 8700k (without clocking it) inside this case? Which cooling system would you recomend me? Or should I go with another CPU?

Second: I´ll be using a PCIe card as my sound interface. Im concerned about the fact of having to connect it using a PCIe riser. Could that affect the performance of this card?

Third : If I mount this case inside a rack , could this also affect the performance temperture?

Finally (and this is more like a personal whim) : I would like something like this for the case :

so , I would like to add something that could bring me some RGB light inside the case. Could it be an additional fan?

By the way , I wont be using a GPU nor another SSD Drive. Only a 250 GB Samsung EVO.

How does this project sound? Any suggestions?

Thanks!

jØrd

S̳C̳S̳I̳ ̳f̳o̳r̳ ̳l̳i̳f̳e̳
sudocide.dev
SFFn Staff
Gold Supporter
LOSIAS
Jul 19, 2015
Second: I´ll be using a PCIe card as my sound interface. Im concerned about the fact of having to connect it using a PCIe riser. Could that affect the performance of this card?
It will likely be fine

Third : If I mount this case inside a rack , could this also affect the performance temperture?