S4 Mini Advice/Help/Suggestions/All of the above

Philjd7

Minimal Tinkerer
Original poster
May 22, 2017
I will preface my potentially lengthy post by saying I am a 100% novice when it comes to PC gaming. I have had interest in building a PC for a while however it has seemed like a daunting task and also I had not stumbled upon a form factor that really caught my attention...until now. I stumbled upon the S4 Mini and I am definitely intrigued with it and considering using that as my entry into PC gaming however I have no experience building PCs and am not 100% sure what a practical build would look like and also I do not believe I have the capacity to mod the build in any serious fashion like some of the creative geniuses in this thread and others.

The PC I would like to build would theoretically be used for:
Gaming at 1080p @ 60+ FPS and 4k @ 30+ FPS
Media streaming, multi-tasking, etc

I have attempted to research builds and such and so far this is what I have come to:

Processor -- Intel i7 7700k (I figure potential future proof?)

Motherboard -- (Not sure which would give me the best bang for my buck)

Memory -- Corsair - Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3000 Memory

GPU -- ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1080 Mini

Storage -- 2tb Seagate Firecuda SSHD + Seagate 5tb 15mm HDD (I'd prefer hefty storage again for future proofing)

Power supply Case -- NFC-Systems S4 Mini

*Much of this is straight copied from PC Price Picker*

My concerns are:

I am looking for as close to a purchase and connect and run build as possible
Budget I saw on the PC part picker was sub 2k -- so ideally I would like similar
Overheating concerns
Being a 100% novice, I have 0 idea about BIOS diagnostics and such, which is why serious help is needed lol

BTW -- The case looks too freaking good not to at least see if this could be my first PC --

DocH

G4G
Apr 2, 2017