Concept Carbon Fibre PC Cases (Modcase Project Update)

haydnbao

Caliper Novice
Original poster
Feb 16, 2022
Hi Everyone! I've upped some updates on my Insta, thought I'd post it here and answer some questions for anyone interested. I'm cutting a batch soon for my self and friends.

The case has moved into production work. Hundreds of hours have been done on yield and construction optimizations alone. Modcase is happening!

For those seeing this project for the first time, I'm an Australian designer who made a lightweight PC case for myself the way I like it. It's real Carbon Fibre, is modular and expandable in volume.

Turns out, other people like it too. Many have encouraged me to make it a real product. (*More about me at the bottom of post.)

Turning a one-off build into a product is quite costly and time intensive. Especially so for Carbon Fibre.

It’s been 2 years and 4 rounds of small production runs. About 17 'types' of MODCASEs were made to explore more cost effective ways to construct a carbon chassis.

Past 3 months have been purely production optimizations. Squeezing as much as possible out of a sheet and using the CFRP in a way that exploits its rigidity.

Lastly, optimization is more than just True Shape nesting, it's also a balance with ease of construction for the user.

Soon, 2 top contenders will be sent out for testing. Feedback will then be integrated before final release.

NOTES:

👉Release date - hoping for this year. A few steps are involved before we get to the public release. Thank you all for your patience.

👉Carbon Fibre side plates will be offered to the first 100. Only because in small numbers, CNC Carbon plates are not much more expensive than steel or plastic.

👉A Second, completely different Carbon SFF case will be posted shortly.