The Thunderbox - Backpack-able 5L MC600 workstation

Hippopeteamus

Cable Smoosher
Original poster
Nov 28, 2019
The brief: I’m a research scientist / engineer/ lecturer at a large university. I needed a compact, powerful workstation that I could stick in a backpack (i.e. brickless) and take between home and the office every day. It was intended for private as well as work tasks. Work tasks included numerical modelling (i.e. finite element modelling with COMSOL, Fluent etc.), number-crunching with BIG spreadsheets and datafiles, 3D design, lots of image processing, some video rendering, and standard office tasks. Private tasks included music composition and production (Sibelius, Cubase, Kontakt, Audition etc.) and 2D art-making, but not a great deal of gaming.
Specific requirements:
  • Easily portable in a small backpack – small, light and robust
  • Brickless
  • Powerful workstation or high-end desktop processor (no overclocking), optimised for multi-threading
  • Solid workstation GPU
  • SSD system drive, SSD for music production, large HDDs for work and private data storage (I’m paranoid about our institution’s increasingly intrusive and authoritarian IT department, and wanted to keep work and private data completely separate!)
  • Given the above, as quiet and cool as possible (I probably didn’t need to add this!)
Case: Logic Supply (now OnLogic) MC600 (substantially modded)
Motherboard: MSI B450I Gaming Plus AC
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 2700
Cooler: Noctua NH-L9a
Memory: 32 GB (2x16GB)
GPU: Nvidia Quadro P1000
PSU: HdPlex 200W DC-ATX + AC/DC adapter bundle (replacing InWin 315W Flex-ATX)
1x Intel 660p NVMe PCIe M.2 – 1TB
1x Samsung SSD 860 EVO – 500GB
2x Seagate Barracuda HDD 2.5’ – 2TB each
Case fans: 2x Noctua NF-A6x25 PWM (replacing 2x Sunon 60mm x 10 mm Vapo-bearing)