Sffpc build recommendation for light to medium rendering jobs

kevindd992002

SFF Lingo Aficionado
Original poster
Sep 19, 2018
I'm new to building sffpc's and my Sister asked me to build one for her as she will be using it for a bit of a rendering as she's an interior designer. She uses apps like these ones:

Sketchup, Autocad, 3dsmax, Adobe suite

Can you recommend some bang-for-the-buck parts that I can get for this? I'm from the Philippines so choices will be limited for sure.

All I have in mind now is the Phanteks Evolv Shift for the case. She wants something thin that can be used vertically and horizontally. And she wants a bit of a not gaming look style, so I find the Shift (and she liked it too) perfect. Any negatives on the Shift that I should know about?

So I'd definitely need some recommendations on CPU, RAM, MoBo, HDD, nVME SSD, GPU, and monitor. She wants a true color monitor so I figured a Mac IPS monitor would suit her but I don't know anything about Macs. I'm also not sure if I need an Intel or an AMD CPU.

All parts that I know are for gaming so I'm really new to this field. Please help and thanks in advance.

eiselx86

Trash Compacter
Oct 23, 2017
If you're willing to wait until the ryzen 3000 series is released I'd say the Ryzen 5 3600X would be suitable for her needs, you can also spend 100$ more for the 8-core 3700x. The 2700X is also a good option. Pair that with a kit of 16GB 3000Mhz+ ram. In my experience, you'd want a GPU with at least 8GB of memory. I use AutoCAD, Fusion360 and Sketchup with a GTX 1070 and that works fine. nVME SSD with 500GB is recommended for a boot drive + regular storage SSD with 250GB. I also use an HDD for storing downloads, CAD files and documents that I don't to fill up my SSD's with.

Soul_Est

SFF Guru
SFFn Staff
Feb 12, 2016