Need some advice on my first sff build

hahler2

Chassis Packer
Original poster
May 6, 2019
So my wife's laptop is dying. And we have been considering doing a sff build for her next computer instead of another laptop. Her uses for the computer are email, web browsing, word processing, and photo editing with Photoshop Elements. Nice thing about Elements is it does not use GPU acceleration like the full blown Photoshop Premier will. So I was thinking we could get by with either a i5 8400 or a Ryzen 2400G and no GPU. I've been looking at the inWin Chopin case. I like the looks of it, it's nice and small so she could take with to some conventions that she goes to 2 or 3 times a year, and it's fairly inexpensive.

Just wondering what some other cases that are in that price point that we should be looking at. I'm new to sff builds and so I'm not really sure what all is out there. Also what are your guys thoughts on the 2400G? I'm leaning that way as opposed to the 8400 but I'm not sure yet at this point.

Reactions: Soul_Est

Soul_Est

SFF Guru
SFFn Staff
Feb 12, 2016
At that price point, you could a have look at the Realan cases. I am not sure which model though. I'll have to have a look at their updated lineup. Maybe someone'll chime in in the meantime.

BonfireOfDreams

Average Stuffer
Mar 14, 2019
Another user posted a similar thread recently with the intention of upgrading to a similar performance spec. Here's a link to my response. I believe the DeskMini A300 to be the best solution at the price point/size/performance you'll be shooting for. The linked post will explain all you need to know if you're interested in taking that direction.

reifnotreef

Average Stuffer
Feb 10, 2019
Also what are your guys thoughts on the 2400G? I'm leaning that way as opposed to the 8400 but I'm not sure yet at this point.