Ryzen 3000 Ghost S1 + 3700x + 2070 Super - Build Check

WikiWikiWang

What's an ITX?
Original poster
Aug 23, 2019
Hi all! This is my first time building a PC and I've always loved the idea of having a powerful, compact computer that could fit in a backpack. Just wanted to post here and get a few more eyes on the build to spot any potential problems. My main concern is temperatures, and I don't have a good idea outside of YouTube videos and Reddit posts of how cool the Ghost will run. I've read that having the right fan placement in the Ghost can change temperatures significantly. I have a lot of questions about my choices, here's some of my thoughts in no specific order:

1. My build will primarily be used for productivity apps. I'm running Blender, DaVinci Resolve, After Effects, deep learning with CUDA, Unity and Unreal Engine, and Cinema 4D; I'll also game but that is just a secondary priority. Games I will be playing are Overwatch, Rainbow 6 Siege, CS GO, Civ, Squad, Battlefield V, Rocket League.

2. For Blender, I want to have good live viewport performance. In this case, I don't think stepping up to the 3900x would make much a difference since a lot of things seem to favor single-core performance. Furthermore, I chose the 3700x due to it's lower (65W) TDP, so that should relieve temps a bit? **I will not be using CPU for rendering; purely GPU CUDA rendering.** So the Ryzen 3000 Blender CPU render benchmarks that sites keep throwing around don't have much affect on my choice of CPU. I also heard Resolve utilizes the GPU heavily.