Post Your Rig/ Setup

confusis

John Morrison. Founder and Head writer SFF.N
Original poster
SFF Workshop
Editorial Staff
Moderator
Jun 19, 2015
3,400
5,752
sff.network


In-Win BK644 (~14L)
AMD FX-8350 @ 4GHz
Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3
8GB Corsair Value DDR3-1600
Gigabyte R7-360 OC
Noctua NH-L12 w/ Industrial PPC fan and Chromax
Prolimatech Ultra Sleek Vortex 120mm fan
OCZ Trion 100 240GB SSD
Seagate? 250gb slim 2.5" HDD
FSP 300w SFX PSU

2x 23.6" 1080P AOC LCD
IBM Keyboard
Hyundai Bluetooth Mouse
Blue Yeti microphone
$10 headphones

Long term testing of some components, as well as my own hardware.
 

Soul_Est

SFF Guru
Silver Supporter
Feb 12, 2016
1,388
1,777
-- snip --

In-Win BK644 (~14L)
AMD FX-8350 @ 4GHz
Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3
8GB Corsair Value DDR3-1600
Gigabyte R7-360 OC
Noctua NH-L12 w/ Industrial PPC fan and Chromax
Prolimatech Ultra Sleek Vortex 120mm fan
OCZ Trion 100 240GB SSD
Seagate? 250gb slim 2.5" HDD
FSP 300w SFX PSU

2x 23.6" 1080P AOC LCD
IBM Keyboard
Hyundai Bluetooth Mouse
Blue Yeti microphone
$10 headphones

Long term testing of some components, as well as my own hardware.
Looking good! The two biggest questions I have are, "Is that IBM Keyboard a Model M?", and, "Have you tried running the FX-8350 with one core per module disabled and testing it's performance?".
 

confusis

John Morrison. Founder and Head writer SFF.N
Original poster
SFF Workshop
Editorial Staff
Moderator
Jun 19, 2015
3,400
5,752
sff.network
Not a model M - its a KB-9910 - but it's the best rubber dome board I've found by far. Very similar in feel to the Wyse thin client keyboards.

Yes, i've run the FX-8350 with one core per module, and 2 modules disabled (not at the same time) and in real terms, the difference isn't much at all between these two modes. At full 8 cores the system is noticeably faster. I need to get a kill-a-watt to check power consumption between the modes.

Looking at adding an aftermarket cooler to the GPU, this R7-360 is a screamer!
 

confusis

John Morrison. Founder and Head writer SFF.N
Original poster
SFF Workshop
Editorial Staff
Moderator
Jun 19, 2015
3,400
5,752
sff.network

Soul_Est

SFF Guru
Silver Supporter
Feb 12, 2016
1,388
1,777
I did not notice that. Sucks that we can no longer get new single slot video cards without modification.
 

confusis

John Morrison. Founder and Head writer SFF.N
Original poster
SFF Workshop
Editorial Staff
Moderator
Jun 19, 2015
3,400
5,752
sff.network
So, I got a new GPU cooler that necessitated a larger chassis.. The Xigmatek Bifrost (EOL, I bought the last one in NZ) is a bit larger than the card.

I can't hear my GPU anymore! I plan on using that overhang for a 92mm fan, a custom shroud, taking the card back to dual slot.

 

Phuncz

Lord of the Boards
Editorial Staff
Moderator
Gold Supporter
May 9, 2015
4,441
3,985
Awesome solution, very nice ! Be sure to post photos and temps with the 92mm fan. It seems like the heatsink was a fraction away of not being able to fit near the rear bracket !
 

Soul_Est

SFF Guru
Silver Supporter
Feb 12, 2016
1,388
1,777
Glad you got the video card figured out and I am definitely looking forward to seeing your mods to the GPU cooler.
 

confusis

John Morrison. Founder and Head writer SFF.N
Original poster
SFF Workshop
Editorial Staff
Moderator
Jun 19, 2015
3,400
5,752
sff.network
The cooler did need some modification to fit - stupid double-stacked rear IO -_-

Will post further mods when they happen :)
 

confusis

John Morrison. Founder and Head writer SFF.N
Original poster
SFF Workshop
Editorial Staff
Moderator
Jun 19, 2015
3,400
5,752
sff.network
I use both dvi ports on my card. One for dvi, one for dvi to vga adapter. My second screen only takes vga and hdmi, but the hdmi image quality is utter crap. Way over sharpened and the colours are quite far off!
 

iFreilicht

FlexATX Authority
Feb 28, 2015
3,222
2,332
freilite.com
Well you could also use an HDMI-to-DVI adapter for the first screen.
I absolutely understand that VGA is still important and that's why most GPUs will still have a single DVI-I connector, just so passive adapters will work.
 

confusis

John Morrison. Founder and Head writer SFF.N
Original poster
SFF Workshop
Editorial Staff
Moderator
Jun 19, 2015
3,400
5,752
sff.network
The other problem is that usually the dvi-d is on the card level and the convertable dvi-I is in the second slot :/
 

iFreilicht

FlexATX Authority
Feb 28, 2015
3,222
2,332
freilite.com
Now that's just stupid. Why don't the manufacturers think of the people that want to slice their card to bits for no good reason? The world we live in these days...
 
  • Like
Reactions: Biowarejak