Pedro's 1st SFF Build

Pedro

Trash Compacter
Original poster
Dec 12, 2017
Hey guys, I have been hovering around the forums for a few months trying to learn the ways of SFF. I am still in the planning phase for my first SFF build. I wanted to start a topic laying out my current plan and elaborate of some of the questions I still have. Also, It’s probably better if I put all my stupid questions in the same thread instead of polluting the entire forum with my idiocy.

I know this build is pretty simple compared to many, heck, most of the builds on these forums. It’s been very humbling reading through the many build logs and any input you guys can give me would be of great help.

The core goal of this system is a portable Gaming PC. I do a handful of LAN parties each year and also want the ability to start dragging my system with me when I travel for work which as of late as every other week for 3-5 days each time and I want to play games during my boring lonely evenings.

Case: Dan Case A4-SFX V3
  • Chosen for ability to fit a Full Length GPU, and SFX Power Supply while keeping the volume low. I have used standard ATX power supplier for all my previous builds and wasn’t in the mood to go down the HDPlex + Dell brick route on my first SFF build, even though that is an option with this case.
Power Supply: Corsair SF600
  • I wanted to assure I had all the power I needed for whatever components end up in the case into the future while staying in the SFX form factor. The SFX-L power supplies seemed to make the A4 case very cramped I am concerned about restricting airflow, even though they are quieter.
Note: I don't really care much about system/fan noise. I usually game with headphones and this system will not be used in the livingroom.

Question 1: I have seen a Noctua fan mod in SF600 power supplies using a the A9x14 fan. What is the main goal of this mod? Noise Reduction? Increased Cooling capacity? The mod doesn’t seem to terribly difficult, is it recommended?