New SFF Member: Pedro

Hi Guys,

My name is Pete, but all my friends call me Pedro.

I have been browsing through the SFF Forum for a few weeks now learning a lot as I go. Currently my Rig in no where near a SFF system, running in giant Cooler Master HAF X case (Yuck). But I want to change my ways and I am hoping the SFF forum is a place to help me shrink my future build down. I look forward to getting to know everyone and learning as much as I can as I close in on my next build which will likely take place next summer (ish), money pending. I have a bit of PC building experience but have never built inside anything smaller then a mid-tower so I am a complete noob to the SFF world. In addition I have no PC modding experience so cutting & chopping inside a case is completely foreign to me, but I am willing to try new things as long as I can afford to screw up, which I will. I also have very limited overclocking experience.

My living situation has changed over the past few years and my giant full tower setup is no longer feasible, in fact I hate it with a fiery passion. It worked great back in the day when I ran a 3 & 4 way X-Fire/SLI build but with the direction CPU & GPU tech has gone in the last few years its sheer volume is no longer needed. I need a system that I can easily move between rooms in the house, take to friends house for last minute LAN parties, and haul on the road to hotels for work trips. My personal PC is used exclusively for gaming, any productivity work is done on the work laptop. I have an idea for my future build but we will address in a later thread, for now I am just here to learn.

Currently I play mostly Blizzard games (Overwatch, Heroes of the Storm & Diablo 3) but have played the Borderlands series extensively, as well as World of Tanks. For a year now I have been running a Steamlink on the TV in the family room, but due to sluggish controls I have only been playing slow paced RPG's on it like Darkest Dungeon & the South Park games.