Changing the 120 fan of my SX700LPT for the Noctua nf-a12x15-pwm

Kyuss

Chassis Packer
Original poster
Jul 13, 2017
Hi!

I bought a Noctua NF-A112x15-PWM fan to replace the crappy Poweryear PY-12015H12S that comes with the SX700LPT PSU. I made a quick test yesterday connecting the red wire from the old fan to pin2 (+12V - yellow) in the Noctua and the black wire (old fan) to pin1 (Ground - black).

I tried using the Heaven Benchmark in order to get the 150-200w threshold to trigger the fan but it doesn't spin. I think the connections are OK and the PSU can move the Noctua but I don't know why not.

The specs of the fans are:

Noctua / Poweryear
Max. Input Power: 1,56W / ?
Max. Input Current: 0,13 A / 0,22 A
Voltage: 12 V

Any help?

VegetableStu

Shrink Ray Wielder
Aug 18, 2016
I'm not good at electronics of this level, but I'll go have a look if the label says anything about minimum power-on voltage for both fans

did you notice the noctua fan jiggle once when you were running the benchmark?

EDIT: no official listing on poweryear's site (but the 120mm fans are all 5V minimum), and notcua doesn't specify firsthand

They did mention this though:
Different starting voltage: Most network devices use voltage-based speed control. If the new fan has a higher starting voltage than the original fan, it may not start up right away. This may lead the device to display errors or even shut down because it suspects a fan failure.

Last edited:
Reactions: Kyuss

Kyuss

Chassis Packer
Original poster
Jul 13, 2017
I'm not good at electronics of this level, but I'll go have a look if the label says anything about minimum power-on voltage for both fans

did you notice the noctua fan jiggle once when you were running the benchmark?

It doesn't move at all, BUT it wants to. When I move the blades it moves more than if it were not connected, so it seems that is drawing some current but not enough to begin the movement.