Build for 3900X/X570

rschill65

Efficiency Noob
Original poster
Dec 31, 2019
Help for a 3900x/x570 build.

I am upgrading from a 4930K, Noctua NH-D15 cooler, Fractal Define R6 case (huge), 16 gig ram, Asus board, 6 years old, showing some age. Random re-boots, OC failures, even though OC not turned on.

Primary use will be various CAD programs, some 3D rendering (both cpu and gpu), and photo editing/management, MS office and internet use.

In order of preference: Quiet, Small or small”ish”, Air cooled, No window

I am an advanced beginner to intermediate builder, a bit older, and this will be my last premium build. Budget is flexible, want parts to be well matched, high quality/reliable, stable, easy usability and last me another 5+ years. Dust filters on case a must – cats!! Maybe play with auto OC for cpu; XMP only for memory. No games. No manual tuning.

Option 1
3900x (purchased)
MSI 2060 Ventus OC edition 6GB (9” long by 5” high) (purchased)
Corsair MP600 nvme pcie Gen4 1TB (boot/primary drive) (purchased)

Need:
1) Cerberus X case, intriguing small build, with proper fans and dust filters. Noise?

2) Noctua NH-C14S with two 140mm fans, per Noctua: “low turbo/overclocking headroom” for the 3900x. Major concern is cooling for 3900X with air. Want upgrade path to 3950x or other AM4 down the road.

3) 2nd 2GB nvme drive (Gen3), Sabrent Rocket 2gb now on sale Newegg, Room for one 2.5” SSD

4) Memory – 32gb memory, 3200 or 3600 speed with reasonable timings. 40mm maximum stick height for NH-C14s, 2x16 or 4x8, whichever makes more sense. Have read that higher rated 3200 may be better than lower rated 3600.

5) ATX Motherboard-Wifi ok/rgb ok if I can turn off. Want at least 2 nvme slots, 3 even better. Like idea of numerical led bios readout for diagnostics, with reset CMOS and bios flashback. Good power delivery, quiet VRM fans. Stability and good, easy to use BIOS important. 1gb lan.

6) Corsair SFX 600 Platinum power supply

Option 2: easier build, but bigger