Better cooling solution with Dan Case? (unusual way...)

arkitec

Cable Smoosher
Original poster
Apr 27, 2019
Dear good SFF people,

I have an unusual question about a possible GPU setup. I'd like to know if it's even possible to link Dan case build connecting with Razer egpu. It sounds like totally defeat the purpose for small factor but was wondering any possibilities.

I'm about to build a pc with Dan Case, and looking at GPU side in the case. What if I place 240mm aio cpu cooler where normally GPU goes (back side of MOBO and PSU where many people place gpu) and have the MOBO using ASRock Z390 ITX to link egpu using thunderbolt 3.

I'm very new to PC world and I understand am asking a dumb question but if above works, do I still need gpu directly connect to MOBO and then link egup? or no need gpu (without having gpu in Dan Case that what I want) but just link egpu instead?

Any thought or opinion would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you in advance.

dfrgu

Trash Compacter
Mar 11, 2019
The AIO might work in theory, but the you have to use slim fan with 15mm thickness.
However, I don't think to use an egpu worth that, because the razor core is basically as large as the Dan case, and you may just find a larger sized case to fit your needs.

Nanook

King of Cable Management
May 23, 2016
The cooling would not be ideal because the case spine will block the airflow. The 92mm AIO works quite well. If you’re really interested in better cooling:
  • Larger case that allows a taller heatsink, or accommodates an AIO. Less hassle.
  • If you’re ok with tethering something to the A4-SFX, you’re better off using an AIO, placing the radiator outside of the case, and routing the tubing through the I/O opening. This would require finding a block that fits through the I/O opening, and of course not using an I/O shield.

Reactions: arkitec

BonfireOfDreams

Average Stuffer
Mar 14, 2019