Chain's Ideas (Megathread of my running ideas)

Do you like these ideas?

• Yes

Votes: 3 100.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Some of them

• Why are we not throwing money at this?!

• Other (comment!)

• Total voters

ChainedHope

Airflow Optimizer
Original poster
Jun 5, 2016
Quick Introduction
Hello all, this is just a thread to log all my ideas whether it be for SFF projects or projects in general. I may not do anything described, but if you would like you are more than welcome to "borrow" some ideas and implement them yourself, just be sure to post an image bellow and quote the idea. I'd love to see them in action. Ideas that I havent put much thought into will just be text, so judge the idea on the amount of pictures, videos and models I have included with them. I am no expert with modeling or craftsmanship, so expect everything to be a crude mock-up. I will be adding project ideas over time.

IDEA: Hand Forged SFF Scratch Build
tl;dr: A case hand forged using the Lost Foam method of casting aluminum and other methods.
overview: The idea comes from my interest in simple blacksmithing work. The idea to to make a foam model of a case as a mockup and build a pc inside. After the case is considered functional to meet the needs, the pc will be deconstructed and the foam will then be used for casting in wet sand. Then molten aluminum (or other metals with similar or lower melting points) will be poured into the sand. The metal will instantly vaporize the foam and take its place. After a cooling period, the metal will harden into the shape and will be grinded, sanded, and polished. After all foam pieces have been "lost" (aka Lost Foam Casting) and the metal shapes created, they will be bolted together forming the case.
advantages: You can cast almost anything you can think of. Want a sword? Go ahead and cast it. Want a arc reactor? Cast it. Want a simple cut out? Cast it. The only limit to what you can make is your creativity.