Would like to build a super simple portable case.

jammiedod93r

Efficiency Noob
Original poster
Dec 1, 2016
Hey everyone,

I'll be going to do some volunteer work for 6 months in 3 countries beginning in mid January and I would like to take my PC with me. As a student I can't really justify the price of a gaming laptop when I already have a decent PC.

I would like to make my current micro-atx computer more portable and was thinking of putting all the hardware into a wooden box like this but I'm not sure if this is a good idea or not.

For the layout this is exactly how I wanted mine to be as well.

https://pcpartpicker.com/b/LN8KHx

It doesn't have to be really complicated, just sturdy enough to hold the parts and small enough so that I can take it as hand luggage on a plane.

Some advice would be appreciated.
Thanks for reading.

jeshikat

Jessica. Wayward SFF.n Founder
Silver Supporter
Feb 22, 2015
Welcome to the forum!

For something that can take the abuse of airline travel I'd second building in a Pelican case or similar.

jtd871

SFF Guru
Jun 22, 2015
Welcome to the forum!
For something that can take the abuse of airline travel I'd second building in a Pelican case or similar.

I'd also consider custom foam inserts as can be fit in to support coolers and any add-in cards during travel, depending on the void space and weight of the components.

jammiedod93r

Efficiency Noob
Original poster
Dec 1, 2016
Thanks for the replies.

My budget is pretty tight so a new pc case + harness or a pelican case are kind of too much for me at the moment. I was thinking about spending around ~$65.

jeshikat

Jessica. Wayward SFF.n Founder
Silver Supporter
Feb 22, 2015
That's fine, nothing like a low budget to force a creative solution to a problem. I would highly recommend getting metal corner brackets though to reinforce the wood if you go that route.

Josh | NFC

Not From Concentrate
NFC Systems
Jun 12, 2015
www.nfc-systems.com