Sff coolers for overclocking

Spacepope94

Cable Smoosher
Original poster
Nov 6, 2017
Hi everyone,

New to the forum, I hope this is the right place to ask this question.

Are there any low profile coolers capable of handling an overclocked cpu?

Particularly, an 1800x. I want to squeeze out as much performance out of this CPU for my workload as possible. I'm new to overclocking and would like to run my 1800x at a range of between 3.8-4.0.

I'm using an s4 mini so there isn't a lot of room. Currently, I am cooling it at stock settings with an nh-l9i

Thanks

Spacepope94

Cable Smoosher
Original poster
Nov 6, 2017
There are other low profile coolers as well, but they won't suddenly give you -10C lower temperature compared to your NH-L9i (especially since you're using S4 mini)

Well unless you go this route: https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/grandeur.220797/ :)

Edit: however, I'm not knowledgeable in OC, so maybe the others can help.

I'm starting to think overclocking isn't feasible with such a small case/cooler. Right now temperatures with the nh-l9i are good and stay below 80c under load

Midiamp

SFF Lingo Aficionado
Mar 15, 2017
michaeladhi.com
Hi everyone,

New to the forum, I hope this is the right place to ask this question.

Are there any low profile coolers capable of handling an overclocked cpu?

Particularly, an 1800x. I want to squeeze out as much performance out of this CPU for my workload as possible. I'm new to overclocking and would like to run my 1800x at a range of between 3.8-4.0.

I'm using an s4 mini so there isn't a lot of room. Currently, I am cooling it at stock settings with an nh-l9i

Thanks
Short answer, there are none. Long answer, you have to hack some part of the case to support low profile water cooler or bigger HSF. Cryorig C7 has higher TDP at 100 watt over NH-L9i 95 watt, but with extra 10 millimeter of height.