(scratch build) project "Tall boy"

darksidecookie

SFF Lingo Aficionado
Original poster
Feb 1, 2016

Who am I?

I'm a first year student product development with a highschool diploma of electromechanics and have an interest in pc's

Why am I building this case?:

Obviously to build a pc in it (parts suggestions are welcom)

Inspired by @Selectivereviews , She loved E and @Jeffinslaw I designed my own case.

Because I did not find anything I that suited my needs and demands, So not wanting to buy and completely modify an existing case I decided to make my own from scratch.

(because it is less work and cheaper then modifying an existing one)

What can the case hold?:

-2 240mm radiators (30mm thick and 25mm fans)

-up to a 3 slot gpu with max length of 310mm (so gtx titan z and R9 295x2 will fit)

-itx motherboard

-2 2,5" ssd's or hdd's (and a m.2 ssd on the back of the motherboard if supported)

-up to sfx-L psu ( sfx will fit too)

-pump and cpu block combo

First sketches:

Modelling:

After the first sketches everything was modelled (and almost everything altered)

As the result of the modelling: a few 1080p renders:

Production:

I have already found a manufacturer for this project and submitted my design, now I'm waiting for the finished product.

ALL comments, suggestions and other are welcom

Phuncz

Lord of the Boards
SFFn Staff
May 9, 2015
It's a nice design, I like it. Tower builds (not the ATX "towers") have always had my interest, ever since Apple's PowerMac G4 Cube and later Silverstone's FT03-MINI. This is a nice layout of the tower concept, I'm curious to see the end result ! Keep us posted !

PlayfulPhoenix

Founder of SFF.N
SFFLAB
Chimera Industries
Gold Supporter
Feb 22, 2015
I swear I've seen a very similar case layout before... but inverted, with the I/O on the bottom. Is there a reason you chose to put that at the top?

Other than the vent pattern, this is quite nice looking. The bare front is especially striking.

darksidecookie