Power Supply On 19V adapters and peak surge currents

Shahmatt

SFF Lingo Aficionado
Original poster
Sep 6, 2017
I'm trying to decide on a 19V external adapter to pair with a 160W 19V internal DC-DC unit.

In many reviews it's been suggested that any laptop 19V adapter will work fine.

But I remember reading in another thread (I think here on SFF) that laptop adapters do not handle peak surge current requirements very well as they are usually designed to charge laptop batteries where the demand is more stable.

If this is the case does it make sense to purchase a laptop 19V adapter? Or is it better to go with the kits that comes with the DC-DC unit?

I have no electronics experience whatsoever so any input is appreciated. Apologies if this is a dumb question.

Reactions: VegetableStu

Josh | NFC

Not From Concentrate
NFC Systems
Jun 12, 2015
www.nfc-systems.com
This isn't a dumb question at all. Really good question to ask. The BEST way to answer your question is to ask what your hardware is, that way we can look up actual power requirments for the components. We have done ALOT of experimenting here to find the best quality bricks for powering these systems--the information that any laptop brick will work sadly is not good info.

For the most part, Nvidia and Intel's published TDP is a great way of ballparking if your brick will work, but there are certain GPUs that can peak surge as you put it and make that number useless.

Generally, I keep it simple and recommend the DA330PM111 as a 19v solution. The genuine Dell 330 I find is a pretty tough brick that can handle some minor peaking, but be aware it varies from brick to brick, and silicon to silicon in your PC.

If you go with a 12v solution, there are several really good bricks I recommend that can handle really crazy peaks, but the HDPLEX 160 is so good that its hard to justify the extra work needed for 12v.

Kmpkt

Innovation through Miniaturization
KMPKT
Feb 1, 2016