MITXPC MX500-USB3

sansoo22

Chassis Packer
Original poster
Aug 6, 2017
Starting the build log for my second ever SFF build. The first was in a Node 202 that currently acts as my HTPC. That build was a piece of cake. This MX500 case is TINY and proving to be a bit trickier thus far.

I work as a cloud applications architect/developer for a wireless carrier. They provide us with one size fits all laptops that in my opinion are more of a sadistic form of punishment than a tool to get work done. The purpose of this build is to have a decent workstation for Visual Studio 2017, Eclipse, and Android Studio.

Many of the components in the parts list are from my boneyard. I'm doing this build on a very limited budget as this is my first experiment with a case this small. The parts were chosen to support the i5-2500k I pulled from my dad's old PC a couple weeks ago when I built him a new machine.

Parts List
CPU: Intel i5-2500K
SSD: Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
Mobo: Gigabyte GA-H61N-USB3
RAM: 16GB Crucial Ballistix DD3 1600
Case: Mitxpc MX500-USB3 with VESA mount
CPU Cooler: Noctura NH-L9i
Fans: 2 x Noctura NF-A4x10 FLX
PSU: HDPlex 160w DC-ATX
AC Adapter: HP 693714-001 230W

I'm a little concerned about thermals with the small Noctura CPU cooler and the i5-2500k. This PC won't be running any long duty cycles and I'm hoping I can get it to run stable at a slightly lower voltage to assist with thermals. Both sides and the entire top of the case are vented so that should help as well.

And now the part you all came here for...

The MITXPC M500-USB3 (with front ports and button removed next to a 3.5 HDD for scale)

Some of the parts going into this tiny thing.

Setting up for some bench testing with an old G620...also note how large a 230w laptop charger actually is.

Tiny Austrians come in a big package

Tiny Austrians mounted

Had to drill a hole for the HDPlex power port. It didn't go as well as planned :(