DanCase A4 w/ Asetek 92mm AIO (12-core Xeon & 1080ti)

The6A

Average Stuffer
Original poster
Mar 20, 2017
Been trying to build a portable workstation. I am a freelancer, and hate not having good hardware/software setups so like to roll my own. This is my attempt to cram everything I need into a portable setup. I am doing a video on this but thought I would share todays battle with installing the asetek AIO in the dan case....uh yeh not that easy.

Setup:
Dan Case v01
x99e-itx/ac
e5-2690v3 12-core ES
64mb ECC ram (forgot the type but MB can do 2x32gb sticks ! )
Corsair 600SF PSU
EVGA GTX 1080 TI SC2
Astetek 92mm AIO

Originally I started with the 1U passive Heatsink and the 92mm Noctua. Temps went to 96+ and CPU throttled after 6 or 7 mins. After installing the AIO and leaving it outside the case without any mods, I seemed to level at aprox 73C after 15mins. So I broke out the Dremel and did some ugly ass case mods. heres what I learned:

1) struggle to get in installed as Dan did but eventually got it. with fan sucking through rad and pumping air into the case. Worked OK but case temps steady raised and after 15mis or so CPU temps were around 95 I think. the case was dam hot. just too much heat from the Xeon 12-core 135TDP to be dumping in the case.

2) I had tried to get the rad hose close to the MB side but the GPU would overlap cutting off hoses. Having the Hose connections on the outside (closest to front of case, which is how I think Dan did it) meant the hoses went across the fan. This kinda worked with the fan guard and fan blowing into case but when fan was orientated blowing out the hoses would push into the fan blades.