Advice 3L Project - Help w/ Dual-Voltage Solution

JLatte64

Cable Smoosher
Original poster
Oct 6, 2023
I'm designing a custom chassis to house an STX motherboard, a low-profile Mean Well PSU, and an RTX 4060 Low-Profile, but I need advice from experienced folk on a power solution.

First off, here's the component layout I've come up with (click the left/right arrows to scroll through - there are 4 pictures, including CAD dimensions so you can get a sense of the space I'm working with).

The motherboard I'll be using is the one from ASRock's DeskMini B660 unit, which only runs off 19V.
The power supply will be a Mean Well LOP-300-12 unit.

I'll be using the PSU's 12V DC output for the GPU and M.2 riser power, but I need a way to step up the voltage from 12V to 19V to deliver power to the motherboard.
Ideally, I'd like it to fit somewhere within this component layout to be as small as possible, but I can go slightly bigger if necessary.

Though I'm not an electrician, I've researched it a bit - TDK-Lambda's i7C series DC-DC boards look interesting but from what I can tell, they need other hardware to function correctly. Their voltage ripple is also 60mV above the ATX spec, and they're not isolated, nor do they have filter circuits on them... so that may also cause safety concerns?

I want to avoid buying cheap converters like this one from Amazon - I've tried to stick to electronic sites like Mouser, TRC and DigiKey, but nothing I've found fits my space and power needs.

I'd like some advice from experienced crafters here on a 12V-to-19V DC-DC solution that would fit my project. Is there anything that you'd recommend?
Also, advice on the approach to wiring up the system is very welcome! As is just general feedback.

Thanks for helping!

Reactions: 80ti

msystems

King of Cable Management
Apr 28, 2017