3D printed PC case

Matt3D

Cable-Tie Ninja
Original poster
Modivio
Mar 2, 2017
First of all, I'd like to welcome everyone since it's my first post here.

Let me start by introducing myself. I'm a CAD engineer working in a company designing one of the most popular 3D printers in the world. I have years of experience working with different 3D printing methods and designing electronic devices - their cases in particular. Lately I've started thinking about buying a new PC. I wanted something small and I came across Dan's Case on Linus's Youtube channel. Then an idea popped to my mind - if PC's got so small, why not just design and 3D print one myself? I've started thinking, designing and printing. 3 weeks and a couple prototypes later here I am :)

It would be great to know what do you guys think about the idea of a fully 3D printed PC case. Let me draw some pros and cons.

PROS:
- possibility of some really innovative designs and form factors,
- superior airflow due to air ducts built into the case,
- easy customization to ideally fit a particular built (minimum volume)
- releasing cases with new designs and form factors in a matter of weeks not months or years

CONS:
- high price due to slow production and requirement of hand finishing ($199 - $349 range)
- plastic is a thermal insulator but with built in ducts and aerodynamic design it can still result in superior heat dissipation

Such cases would be either chemically polished or grinded and painted on the outside. As a result they wouldn't look like 3D printed parts but as moulded parts with professional finish.

Kmpkt

Innovation through Miniaturization
KMPKT
Feb 1, 2016
I'm personally really excited for 3D Printing of cases among other things, but the finish quality really hasn't been there with non-professional grade printers to date. I have been looking at the Markforged Onyx line which looks to be heading in the right direction, but the build envelope is too small : (