The Blackbox, i7 7820x X299E-ITX/AC

pacmanwa

Chassis Packer
Original poster
Aug 1, 2017
I'm a software engineer by trade and wanted to build a somewhat mobile workstation class + gaming PC. The name of the build should tell you what industry I work in :)

This started out as a new computer I was building with my bonus. This was in March, my wife asked me to wait several times, it started as a microAtx 7700k then went to a mini-itx Ryzen7, when I was told to wait again... resulting in using the i7 7820x for the CPU. The build has a few basic goals:
  • Workstation (compile linux kernel, virtualization research)
  • Gaming (Doom & VR)
  • Small
  • Light
  • NO DISK DRIVES (2.5" 3.5") SSDs only.
Without further delay I present the parts list: https://pcpartpicker.com/user/pacmanwa/saved/#view=BqnZLk

Everything is on order except: RAM/Motherboard/CPU Cooler
WARNING RANT FOLLOWS
<RANT>
As much as I want to do an AIO, traveling with this PC will be more difficult one.
I've contacted Asrock for assistance on RAM and Cooler specifically available space for the cooler. The answer I got back as discouraging, not surprising, and honestly expected. Here is a synopsis: "Wait for the motherboard to come out."

Now, for the maths. Per some research (thank you VegtableStu) I found that the LGA2066 square ILM is the same size as the LGA2011-3 square ILM: 80x80mm. I then confirmed the size of the LGA2011-3 ILM here: https://www.intel.com/content/dam/www/public/us/en/documents/guides/core-i7-lga2011-3-tmsdg.pdf on page 56.

Using Gimp and some pictures of the board I was able to make some measurements. It should be 80 mm from screw hole to screw hole.

I found the distance from the screw hole to the daughter boards are about 15mm. This is to center of the slot. The M.2 slot in the left daugher board looks to be about 7mm high. So I have about 6mm on the left and ~ 13mm on the right.