Log (Requested) My first SFF "build"

OKSasquatch

Minimal Tinkerer
Original poster
New User
Jul 16, 2020
I'm relatively new to the whole SFF custom scene and just recently joined. In my Intro thread I mentioned that back in 2011 I had built a SFF pc somewhat inadvertently, before I knew SFF was a thing. I crammed a Zotac FUSION350-A-E board, a couple SODIMMS, a cheap Mini ITX psu, and a couple 2.5" drives into an old external CD drive case because why not. Some of the mods asked for pics, so here they are.

The CD Drive case:

So the case started out life as one of these, a Creative Labs CT2755 EasyCD external drive, which would hook up to the SoundBlaster 16 companion card installed in the pc.

Stock case (not my pics, I put this together before I knew pc build logs were a thing.)

VIEWER DISCRETION ADVISED: 9 years ago I was not the master craftsman I am today, and the only modding tools I had available then were a cheap 6V drill, a glue gun and a snap-off razor knife. There's lots of paint scuffing from it living in a box of loose parts in a closet for the last 6+ years. And I knew nothing about proper case airflow requirements back then.

The original front panel had a rotary volume control and microphone and headphone jacks. The volume wheel was removed and a power switch (fabbed up out of the end of a tongue depressor sharpied black and superglued to a scavenged momentary switch) was installed in it's place. The microphone/headphone jacks were filled with led's embedded in hot glue, which served as power/hdd activity indicators. A scrap piece of acrylic with hand carved edges went in where the original CD drive bezel once was. With a bit of crimping of the edges the I/O shield fit snugly where the original did, and a second, tiny acrylic window was fit to fill in the gap and hold the power connector.