GPU How big is too big?

Kmpkt

Innovation through Miniaturization
Original poster
KMPKT
Feb 1, 2016
I'm just curious what people feel is the optimal max GPU length that a small form factor case should be able to accept in order to have broader market appeal. Same goes with height. At first I'd been thinking that 10.5" (266.7mm) x 4.376" (111.15mm) might be enough, but it looks like so many manufacturers are going well above and beyond these measurements that I am wondering where to draw a line? I know the Dan A4 SFX can handle a card up to 295mm while the Zaber can do up to 305mm? I guess I'm just having difficulty deciding where the cutoff should be. @dondan , @ZombiPL , why did you guys decide on your respective cutoffs?

Sicaris

SFF Lingo Aficionado
Dec 6, 2016
I know I'm not a case designer but my personal feeling is that the other features should dictate that. For example, using an SFX PSU in front of the motherboard means you have a lot of space. Otherwise you could end up with a lot of wasted space just to be able to fit a full sized GPU.

CC Ricers

Shrink Ray Wielder
Bronze Supporter
Nov 1, 2015
Dondan extended the size of his case when he shifted away from using only blower cards for his initial prototype, and switched the placement around to have the fans facing outward, thus allowing it to support open-air cooler designs. It also worked out for him because it gave the case room to add a SFX PSU instead of the HD-PLEX solution he originally had.

Reactions: Soul_Est

ZombiPL

Airflow Optimizer
DR ZĄBER
Apr 13, 2016