Hi From Melbourne

I'm new to SFF, but definitely not to computers.

I started working professionally in computers way back in 1966. So far back in fact, that I once made the mistake of describing what 'computers' were like when I first started. After that, I'm sure she thought I must have come out of the primordial ooze.

For you see, back then, despite being in the aerospace industry our 'computer' did not have a stored program, so was not really a computer - in the modern sense. It was a Punched Card Tabulator, whose only means of storing data was in 80 column punched cards any 'Programming' as such was done with a plug board.

Believe me that's quite a constraint on systems design and hysterically SLOW! Every record was limited to 80 characters long. All files had to be kept in usually numeric order. To update a master file, you had to sort the incoming cards to the same sequence in a punched card sorter - one column at a time. These were then fed into a Gang Punch, with the Master File Cards in one hopper and the Transaction File Cards in another. When the Gang Punch found a match, it would read the Master Record through one set of wires into an accumulator and the Value of the Transaction through another set of wires, update the value and spit out an updated Master File Record into an output hopper. These then had to be merged back into the Master File and the old records removed.

We did eventually start using a 'real' computer that had Master Files on magnetic tape and programs that had to be read in on punched cards before every run. So, everything still had to be kept sequentially. Transactions were still on 80 column cards and had to be punched and verified by another operator, before they were input. The only output, at that stage, were line printers.