Discussion Can't Enter Bios ASUS z690i

Jp42nca

Average Stuffer
Original poster
Nov 30, 2020
I've completed a few builds in the past 4 years, I'm fairly new at this since I don't do it all the time so I always proceed with caution. Just completed a new build & fired up for the first time, everything came on, so far so good. However when the main screen came on with all the pertinent information, it showed the motherboard, cpu, memory, keyboard, mouse, & said to press F1 to run setup. I want to enter bios to see what temps were before moving forward with Windows 11 install. I pressed F1 & could not enter bios. When I powered on it never prompted me to hit F1 or Delete key to enter bios at the bottom of the screen either, maybe this only appears after Windows 11 is installed? I only have a wireless keyboard to work with at the moment but as you can see it does show up w/mouse & other pertinent information.

Is there another way to enter the bios? What am I doing incorrectly? Need some help here so all advice would be helpful. Thanks for reading.

HWI

Average Stuffer
Sep 6, 2022
You don't need an OS installed to enter BIOS. Your monitor may not be receiving the input yet when the screen pops up with the "press 'x' to enter BIOS", right after you hit the power button just spam the delete or F11 button until it brings you into the BIOS.

Reactions: Jp42nca and rfarmer

DASBOOT

Airflow Optimizer
Dec 31, 2017
Yes, there is another way. If fast-boot is turned on (for what reasons, I have no idea, especially if using an SSD or NVME SSD, you may have trouble entering the bios.