Skyreach 4 Mini Gaming Build

Ertugrul

What's an ITX?
Original poster
New User
Apr 23, 2020
Hey guys I'm totally new to the whole SFFPC thing and honestly a total noob in building PC's in general. My first (and only) build was back in 2015 and I'm still rocking it.

Here is what it was:
  • Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X
  • i3-4170
  • Gigabyte H81M S2PV
  • Kingston Hyper Fury 2x4Gb
  • 1 TB Western Digital HDD
  • 128 GB SSD
So basically a coworker showed me his S4 mini and I thought it was the coolest thing as a PC build. Couple nights ago I saw that the S4 mini in black was for sale so I decided to take the plunge and build as I go on. I'm planning on building it out next year but want to see what options I have so I can start acquiring parts so the costs are spread out.

This will be mainly a gaming build (not interested in VR if that helps) but I am a developer by trade so I would like to do dev work. I am planning on buying two 1440p 144Hz monitors as well. I have no clue as to what GPU and CPU would be the best for what I'm looking as I was never "in" with the techy stuff (my cousin told me what to buy for my first one).

All in all I'm looking for a gaming PC that I can dev on. I want to be able to game in 1440P 144Hz.

Given the size restrictions what should I be looking for without overheating things?

Don't care whether there's an external brick or brick-less (if that helps with anything).

Glint

Master Lurker
Jul 20, 2018
Hello and welcome!

Unfortunately, I cannot advise from a place of experience specifically for building in a S4 mini. However, you may find this link useful: Build examples