CPU MSI PRO DP20Z 5M

confusis

John Morrison. Founder and Team Leader of SFF.N
SFF Network
SFF Workshop
SFFn Staff
Jun 19, 2015
sff.network
I'm seeing reviews from August, so it's not very new, but it's the first I've heard of it.

Seems MSI rolled their own X300 board for it too!

Attachments

• msi1`.PNG
    msi1`.PNG
    185.7 KB · Views: 26

fadsarmy

Caliper Novice
Original poster
Oct 24, 2017
I'm seeing reviews from August, so it's not very new, but it's the first I've heard of it.

Seems MSI rolled their own X300 board for it too!
£130 for the barebone with WIFI is pretty good. The only thing is that there is no bios fan control but I heard you can control it in MSI Center. Also DDR4 tweaking options are non-existent. Is that an STX format?

fadsarmy

Caliper Novice
Original poster
Oct 24, 2017
I've been using this with a 5300G for a few months and I'm generally happy with it except the CPU fan profile. There is no fan control and the fan revs up and down between 40-50 C and that is usually the operating temperature of the CPU. I would have preferred a constant noise, even if slightly loud, over a fluctuating fan speed. You can install MSI Center but it seems to be only available for Windows 10. I installed it anyway on Windows 11 and if you enable power save mode, the fan becomes quiet (usually constant at 1000rpm with NH-L9i fan) but this sacrifices performance and other strange things started to happen like my Lenovo USB speakers would start to make a very loud static noise.

HydrAxx747

SFF Lingo Aficionado
Feb 23, 2021
£130 for the barebone with WIFI is pretty good. The only thing is that there is no bios fan control but I heard you can control it in MSI Center. Also DDR4 tweaking options are non-existent. Is that an STX format?