Motherboard Mini-ITX Dual PCI-E Hot-swapping, possible?

P2theG1

Chassis Packer
Original poster
Jul 13, 2017
So I'm currently designing and building my new rig, a TFF (Tiny Form Factor) build, what I'm interested to know is if it's possible to have a Hot-swappable PCIe connection while using either a single 16x slot or 2 * 16x slots via PCIe Bifurcation, I've never done Bifurcation before on a Mini ITX board but my idea is that I can either have a Quick detachable GPU or a tiny built in GPU with the second PCIe 8x line for an add on full size desktop GPU which can be disconnected without the need to adjust any bios or software settings after shutting down and then turning back on. I want to be able to shut down the system, disconnect the GPU, and either put in a compact GPU or just have a Compact GPU built in like a 1050ti then have a 1080ti or whatever in a expansion case that I just put the system into and upon the pcie slot of the 1080ti connecting to the split PCIe Bifurcation connection I just turn on the system and it then uses the 1080ti for GPU output. Is this possible? Is PCIe hotswapping with GPUs possible? I know thunderbolt 3 exists but I'm experimenting with ideas

jØrd

S̳C̳S̳I̳ ̳f̳o̳r̳ ̳l̳i̳f̳e̳
sudocide.dev
SFFn Staff
Gold Supporter
LOSIAS
Jul 19, 2015
what I'm interested to know is if it's possible to have a Hot-swappable PCIe connection
No, there are server systems out there that can do hot swap PCIe, they cost more than some fairly decent cars

after shutting down and then turning back on.
This makes more sense, its not hot swap per-se but sure.