Getting PCIe power from a proprietary PSU without enough connectors (without causing a fire)

Valantar

Shrink Ray Wielder
Original poster
Jan 20, 2018
Tl;dr: I'm not an electrical engineer, and I'm planning on doing stuff I probably shouldn't. Can you help?

So I'm working on a project that's growing increasingly complex, "fun", and risky at the same time, modding an old Optiplex 990 into a light gaming PC. After discovering that the PCIe slot is limited to 35W and thus can't run anything beyond a 1030 without auxiliary power, I decided to go balls-to-the-wall, got a (really cheap!) used RX 570 ITX, and I'm now working on two issues: how to fit it in the case, and how to power it.

The PC has a (quite shitty, as far as I can tell) proprietary 240W PSU, with a maximum 12V power output of 17A (204W) on its single 12V rail. According to Dell's manual there are two PSU options for this PC: one 80+ rated, and one with a "mean efficiency" of a downright terrible 65%. I'm pretty sure I have the latter, and can't find the former for sale anywhere reasonable, so for now I'm stuck with this (I have options for a PSU upgrade down the line, but that's not in the cards for now - this is a near-zero budget build).

Paired with an i5-2400, 4 sticks of RAM, an SSD and three case fans, some underclocking of the GPU is definitely in order if I'm to avoid blowing the PSU up (or at least tripping OCP (if the PSU has it)). That should be doable, though, as I'm not looking to squeeze maximum performance out of this, but make something very cheap and reasonably portable for light gaming. People on mining forums report getting RX 580s under 100W, so I'm thinking this is doable - running Prime95, the CPU never reports package power above 71W, despite its 95W TDP.