Advice FormD T1 - 2024 Build - B550-I or B760-I ?

rousseau789

Case Bender
Original poster
New User
Apr 11, 2024
Hi

I'm new to SFF and I would welcome any advice that the community could offer on a new FormD T1 (non-reference) build...

I'm looking at the following components (combination of new and second hand) :
  • Mobo - ROG Strix B550-I / ROG Strix B760-I
  • CPU - AMD Ryzen 7 5700X / Intel i5 12400F (dependent on mobo)
  • RAM - Kingston Fury 16GB DDR4 / Kingston Fury 16GB DDR5 (dependent on mobo)
  • GPU - Zotac 3070 Ti AMP Holo / Zotac 3080 Trinity (independent of mobo)
  • Cooler - Noctua NH-L9a-AM4 / Noctua NH-L9i-17XX (mobo dependent)
  • Fans - Noctua NF-A12-X25 (2 units)
  • PSU - Corsair SF750
I intend to install Manjaro Linux on the build and use it mainly for Open3D, OpenCV and PyTorch.

There's a chance that I may install Windows and do some light gaming at some point, but that's not the primary reason for building.

Having a quiet system when it is not under load is also important.

My main concern is how future proof the AMD-AM4-DDR4 option will be compared to the Intel-LGA1700-DDR5 option.

The AMD option is cUSD60 less expensive than the Intel option.

(The saving isn't greater than this, as if I take the AMD option, I need to order components from overseas, which means additional delivery / tax charges).

My question is : would it still be worthwhile taking the AMD option in 2024 ?

I'm leaning a little towards the Intel option, but I would welcome any thoughts from the community.

Thanks !

rfarmer

Spatial Philosopher
Jul 7, 2017
Is there a reason you aren't considering AM5? That is the best platform for future proofing since current motherboards should support 2 or 3 more generations of CPUs.

rousseau789

Case Bender
Original poster
New User
Apr 11, 2024