First time SFF Build

DemLep

Caliper Novice
Original poster
Nov 8, 2019
Hey Everyone,
I have been building and working on computers for about 2 decades now, but usually stick to full size cases and massive builds. I recently decide I wanted my next build to be something a little different so I gave myself two rules for my next build:

1) It must be as small as possible
2) It should cost as close as possible to 500 USD

With that I came up with the following build:
Morex 557 Universal Mini-ITX Case​
$50​
ASRock Fatal1ty B450 GAMING-ITX/AC​
$130​
AMD RYZEN 3 2200G Quad-Core 3.5 GHz​
$85​
Team Group MS30 M.2 2280 256GB​
$33​
CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB)​
$75​
picoPSU-90 + 100W Adapter Power Kit​
$50​

Right now I'm at about $423, so I've got some room on upgrades or missing components. Only the tower is included in the price restriction.

I'm not sure if the fan that comes with the CPU will fit in the case. I don't need a better cooler for this PC so it would be nice to put that money towards something else. However, looking at the sizes of everything it looks like it will be close. Anyone have any experience with that fan in that case or similarly sized cases?

Also, any advice for someone new to building SFF PC? Like I said at the top, I know how to build PC's just haven't worked with this form factor before.

DemLep

Caliper Novice
Original poster
Nov 8, 2019
I am curious on the thermals of the Ryzen 3 2200G and if undervolting has an enough of an effect to make it worth trying. Just thinking of different ways to optimize for temperature and noise. It will be a HTPC so keeping the noise level as low as possible is important.

Stevo_

Master of Cramming
Jul 2, 2015