Advice CPU cooling for 5600x in a 4.7L case

NegativeONE

Average Stuffer
Original poster
Apr 8, 2022
Hello again, im looking to get a cooler for the 5600x, i have an issue with height, which i assume that will affect performance. in that 37mm space, i beleive im quite restricted, i was looking at the Noctua NH-L9a originally, but recent noticed a couple of others which i know nothing about.
There appears to be a couple of contenders,

- Thermaltake Engine 27,
- Noctua NH-L9a
- Z39 CPU cooler (few different brands)
- Thermalright AX90-X36
- ID Cooling IS-30 (not sure if the 30mm is the ultimate or just the rad).

As i've never worked in such a tiny case before, im not sure whats best to use, especially with a 5600x. I know 5800x runs quite hot under synth loads with a 280mm AIO and a neg PBO curve. Im not sure if anyone has used the Thermaltake Engine 27 before, it looks interesting lets say.

Any assistance would be awesome.

I also need to figure out the flex ATX for this build as im not sure about that yet either, still some more research required, especially when i pick up the 1650 super tomorrow on the cheap.

scatterforce

Master of Cramming
May 21, 2018
The NH-L9a will perform the best, but we are talking by only 1 degree over the Thermalright or Z39 in most cases.
The Thermaltake Engine should only be used on Thin ITX boards, where you have even less space. It is not a very good performer.
The results I've seen from the ID Cooling IS-30 have been underwhelming.

The Z39 can be a better option over the Noctua depending on the vent pattern of your case. Any fan with pushed right up to the case will produce turbulence; the Z39 avoids this by placing the fan below the fins.

NegativeONE

Average Stuffer
Original poster
Apr 8, 2022
The NH-L9a will perform the best, but we are talking by only 1 degree over the Thermalright or Z39 in most cases.