News QNAP releases 2.5Gbps 5-port switch (QSW-1105-5T)

QNAP, better known for their NAS devices, has released an unmanaged 2.5Gbps 5-port switch, suitable for home use.

Product page here:

This should cost around $100 once it's available at major retailers.

With all the latest Z490 and B550 motherboards supporting 2.5Gbps Ethernet, I hope we'll see more options like this coming out over the coming months.

I've been using QNAPs enterprise rack mounted NAS units for over 5 years now, and they've been excellent, so this is on my list for a future upgrade of my network at home.

Reactions: Phuncz

ermac318

King of Cable Management
Mar 10, 2019
I saw this same article today, and was struck by how that's still to expensive, when you can buy a Mikrotik CRS305 which is 4x10Gb + 1x1Gb for $140. If this was $60 or even $80 I would buy it. Otherwise, $140 plus two or three SFP+ NGbaseT modules I think is much more future proof.

Reactions: Phuncz and AlexTSG

AlexTSG

Master of Cramming
Original poster
Jun 17, 2018
www.youtube.com
I’m not sure how pricing in Taiwan compares to elsewhere in the world, but I agree that the Mikrotik you mentioned does offer better value for money.

I’m unlikely to upgrade my network before the end of the year, so by then, with some other competing products on the market , maybe pricing will drop to that $60-$80 range.

I’d also like to see something like this with a 10Gbps port added for a higher speed connection to my home server, but aside from that this is pretty close to meeting my requirements.

Phuncz

Lord of the Boards
SFFn Staff
May 9, 2015
I don't mind paying a little more for having some or all parts 1G/2.5G capable but that price is too much. Though I find most of the non-NAS products from QNAP often overpriced.

Revenant

Christopher Moine - Senior Editor SFF.N
Revenant Tech
SFFn Staff
Apr 21, 2017
Honestly, at this point 10Gbps should be commodity hardware.

ermac318

King of Cable Management
Mar 10, 2019