Power Supply Confused about the power information of this DC PSU (RGEEK 300w)

htorrisi

Efficiency Noob
Original poster
Feb 8, 2022
Hey,

---- PSU Question ----

So I purchased an RGEEK 300w DC PSU, from Aliexpress.

It's rated for 300w output. But the max input values don't match up. 12v @ 19a max. Which is equivalent to 228w. Am I looking at this the wrong way?
I'm a software developer by trade, I don't have enough experience when it comes to electricity, so I wouldn't know where to start googling to understand this.

If someone could shed some light, or point me in the right direction then it would be greatly appreciated.

---- Power Adapter Question -----

My estimated usage is about 220w. Here are the PC hardware components I am working with, https://au.pcpartpicker.com/list/MQT9Tn

From research, looks like the Dell DA-2 is my only option. Other more commonly used Alienware chargers are rated for 19v.
Is this my best option, or does someone know of anything better?

--- Sugar ----

Helping me helps make this LTT Xbox mod come to life 😁
Below is a photoshoot, but I have all the parts, stencils etc ready to go.
Just need to pick a power adapter, and confirm I can meet the power requirements with this PSU.

ignsvn

By Toutatis!
SFFn Staff
Apr 4, 2016
Hey,

---- PSU Question ----

So I purchased an RGEEK 300w DC PSU, from Aliexpress.

It's rated for 300w output. But the max input values don't match up. 12v @ 19a max. Which is equivalent to 228w. Am I looking at this the wrong way?
I'm a software developer by trade, I don't have enough experience when it comes to electricity, so I wouldn't know where to start googling to understand this.

If someone could shed some light, or point me in the right direction then it would be greatly appreciated.

---- Power Adapter Question -----

My estimated usage is about 220w. Here are the PC hardware components I am working with, https://au.pcpartpicker.com/list/MQT9Tn