Discussion Budget water cooling solution for a Vega 56 in 2021 ? (ref design)

Tonkatsu

Average Stuffer
Original poster
Jul 18, 2020
Well is there anything such ?

Note I have zero experience in the field, this is my first time considering water-cooling anything.

Case's either Node 202 or FTZ01S.

Story: I'd enjoy a better cooled and more importantly decently quiet GPU, until the crisis ends.
But it might not be worth spending serious extra upgrading an already aged one (btw: it's the MSI Air Boost OC reference-based model).

While I'm seeing here and there offers for artisan services, even local : https://hybridcooling-modding.fr/gpu/80-waterblock-rx-vega.html (mmh the tubes I/O located right under the pcb, so that one's prolly unseable with 240mm radiator, maybe not even 120mm, dunno)...
...and manufacturer products still in stock: https://www.corsair.com/eu/fr/Catégories/Produits/Custom-Cooling/Waterblocks/Waterblocks-pour-carte-graphique/Waterblock-pour-carte-graphique-Hydro-X-Series-XG7-RGB-RX-SERIES-(VEGA-64)/p/CX-9020007-WW
...I bet the invoice total (Q: what's everything I'd need besides the block?) will probably turn to unreasonable spending level if considering purchasing a brand new GPU in probably ~2 years from now.

Did I read CPU blocks to GPUs adapters exist ? couldn't find examples though.

Any hint appreciated. Also please tell me honestly to give up and wait if that's a silly idea/waste of time & money. ;)

Last edited:

Protools

Average Stuffer
Oct 10, 2018
The 2 cases you've stated has no room for any radiator to be inside. You'll need a radiator to cool the waterblocks.
If you must use those cases, you can drill a 20~22mm hole and insert a fill port. Try searching 'G1/4" Fillport Fitting'.
You can then connect an external radiator such as MO-RA3(https://shop.watercool.de/MO-RA3-360-PRO-black_1)

Finding a waterblock for the Vega will be hard since most manufacturers will EOL the waterblock if the GPU is no longer produced.