Advice on low power light gaming build

JRR

Cable Smoosher
Original poster
Oct 18, 2017
Hi,
I'm a complete noob to SFF builds, but I'd like to build a thin min itx rig for light gaming. It needs to be very low power, and needs to be dc input only, as I'm going to be using it in a travel trailer powered by a 12 volt solar panel system. I'd want it mainly for playing WoW, Hearthstone, maybe a few other mmos, and, if possible, I'd like to be able to play Divinity: Original Sin 2, which lists the minimum gpu as Nvidia GeForce GTX 550 Ti or AMD Radeon HD 6770. I need to keep this as low power as possible, but I don't mind stretching the power consumption a bit if it means I can play DOS 2. I also need to keep the cost down as much as possible. I'm not asking much, am I? :-) Anyway, I'd appreciate any advice on a motherboard, cpu, gpu, and psu.

Thanks.

JRR

Cable Smoosher
Original poster
Oct 18, 2017
Actually, thinking about an I5 4670T and a GTX 1050 Ti. That's 120 watts. Think that would suit my needs? I can downgrade to the GT 1030 if necessary.

Reactions: Julio Espinosa

JRR

Cable Smoosher
Original poster
Oct 18, 2017
I don't really have a hard cap. I have 500 watts of solar, charging a 360 AH battery bank. I don't really have much electricity need, other than a computer. I run a few lights, a fan, and once in a while, a 35 watt tv. I'd like to keep it as low power as possible, but I'm flexible. If I can keep it under 160-180 watts, I'd be happy with that.

Thanks!

Reldey

Master of Cramming
Feb 14, 2017
This is really neat, I've always liked the idea of a self sustained energy system that can power things like a gaming PC. Build log on your solar trailer? :p

Reactions: Julio Espinosa

JRR

Cable Smoosher
Original poster
Oct 18, 2017
As I said, I'm a noob. I don't really know what a build log is.

I would love it if someone could recommend a motherboard for this project.

jtd871

SFF Guru
Jun 22, 2015