Production YASFF - Open Source, small(6.4L), basic, low cost. With Source!

cokeeffekt

Trash Compacter
Original poster
Sep 14, 2017
Introduction

My first taste of the small form factor world was the Dell Alienware Alpha it was tiny, this has served me well for the last few years. Now I want more, but I also want a bit of a challenge. I’m a software engineer so open source is always a big thing for me so I thought I have a tackle at an open source computer cases… why not.

Yet Another Small Form Factor YASFF
Simple right, right.

The Source Files!!

The Latest version of the source files are available at the git repo below. Enjoy.

https://github.com/cokeeffekt/yasff

I cant wait to see if anyone deems it worthy of a build.

What is it?

Well it’s a case, with a low cost, fully customisable by you and… small, it needs to be small, thats kinda the point. 6.4L small.

Specifications
  • Volume : 6.4L
  • Dimensions : 188mm Deep * 223mm Wide * 152mm High
Hardware Support
  • ITX motherboard
  • CPU cooler max height ~70mm
  • SFX/SFX-L PSU
  • Full height Graphics card max 140mm tall, 175 long

What low cost means to me. Low cost in every direction, not just the case cost I wan’t to reduce the barrier to entry from every point of view, it needs to support off the shelf ready to purchase hardware, this means standard PSU, standard GFX card and standard motherboards.

Talking money

Less than $100 for everything including shipping, everything.

Yes thats the goal, you will be able to take the files + bom and buy / build this thing for $100, maybe even less depends how creative you get.

EDIT: Its been pointed out the similarity in hardware placement and form factor in with my case and the popular case by @K888D https://smallformfactor.net/forum/threads/lazer3d-lz7-quiet-gaming-cube-pc-case.596/ it wasn't intentional, but i do accept the similarities. Hope i haven't caused any offence, props to @K888D for getting there first.

Last edited:

cmyk78

Master of Cramming