What is the best GPU I could fit in a MC600 Case?

whum

Trash Compacter
Original poster
Sep 3, 2017
Hello, there. I am brand new to the forums here and glad I found them!

I've been building very basic PCs for many years, but have just recently stumbled into the world of small form factor. I'm addicted, like most of you I'm sure, to running different schematics in an effort to pack as much power as I can in the smallest package, while (trying to) remaining practical. :) But I'm also a newbie to many of the terms, big names and concepts. Learning a bunch, though.

I was going to just get one of the new asrock deskmini gtx 1060 rigs. It might be more up my alley. Maybe I will still go for that once a few reviews have given the green light on temps, etc. But for now I've run a custom build with similar specs andI recently came across the logic MC600, which would save about $200 and keep the option for upgradeability open in the future.

I really like the case, and have done some research here on the forums. I see a few people have dropped the GTX 900 series GPUs in these, along with some hd plex PSUs. I've seen some very clever people cut pretty big holes in the top sheet for ventilation.

So, my question is, if you were to replace the top sheet of metal on this case with a (custom) fine mesh aluminum sheet, to maximize airflow, would there still be limitations to what I could put in this? For instance, would the new gigabyte GTX 1080 mini work in this? How about a gtx 1070? Or would say, a 1050 ti, as I recall having seen, be pushing it? I'm basically looking at other build examples, since I know the guys who have done this before are way smarter than me, so whatever they are stopping at, is what I want to stop at as well.

Ok, sorry for rambling. Just wondering, conceivably, what the most powerful GPU is that I could fit in this logic case, and I suppose what kind of PSU might work to power it?