What benchmarks/measurements are useful for you?

zovc

King of Cable Management
Original poster
Jan 5, 2017
Tomorrow, some hardware from @Kmpkt (and Amazon) should be showing up at my door, and I'm going to be benchmarking it and doing some testing we're both interested in seeing the results of.

It's an i7-7700T, i7-7700, i7-7700K, and a few Pascal GPUs. Motherboard is a MSI Z270I Gaming Pro Carbon. (Along with a test bench, some RAM, and a CRYORIG M9i.)

In addition to the Cryorig M9i, I have a Noctua NH-L9i that I can do a second battery of testing with if it helps make things relevant. Kmpkt and I decided on using a small tower cooler partially because it's really affordable at $20, but also because we wanted to see how the 7700K did overclocked. In addition to the practical reasons, it can be cross-referenced with this piece from Optimum Tech which pretty much helps everyone.

The test bench is an OBT Mini, so the tests are going to be open-air.

I'm still fairly new to benchmarking, so I'm here to ask for advice on that but I'm also interested in knowing what tests/information/data would be useful to you. Is there a CPU or GPU benchmark you think is under-utilized? How would you like to see me measuring/recording temperatures or power consumption? Is there a particular way you would like to see this data represented?

• Currently, the best ways I have of recording power draw are measuring the total system Watt usage via a Kill-a-Watt outlet meter and using software like HWiNFO64, which relies on motherboard sensor reporting.
    • The plan right now is to use a camera record footage of the Kill-a-Watt during the benchmark runs--I don't know of a more 'scientific' way to track that data point. Of course I could watch the meter the entire time, but with something so tedious (and some benchmarks running for quite a while, there's a lot of room for human error there. Any better ideas?