The "FN-2187" Build, Raijintek Metis Plus, Phase 1.5

jmarin

Airflow Optimizer
Original poster
Mar 8, 2018
This isn't my first small form factor build, but it is as a member of this site. I had previously stuck a mini-ITX intel atom board inside an old NES, but that was roughly 10 years ago now, and before that did a micro ATX build. Inexplicably, I went back to ATX with my dual Radeon 5770 build in an Antec Three Hundred Illusion case. I wanted to make things smaller and simpler again, hence why I am here. This is my first build in about 8 years. Yeah, it's been too long.

I decided on FN-2187 as a nod to Star Wars/Stormtroopers, and also a subname of "Aren't you a little small(short) to be a stormtrooper?" which works because it is overly complicated and nerdy/corny. Anyway, on to the build:

Case: Raijintek Metis Plus in white
CPU: Ryzen 5 2400G
Mobo: ASRock Fatal1ty AB350 gaming itx/ac
RAM: 1x8 GB Ballistix Sport DDR4 2666 in white
SSD: ADATA XPG SX900 2.5" 256GB SATA III MLC (from old PC, more on this later)
HDD: 1 TB Samsung(?) from laptop (Forget the brand, came with my laptop 2 years ago that I swapped an SSD into)
PSU: Corsair SF450
Other: Phanteks PWM fan hub, 4 Artcic F12 silent case fans

Obligatory box shot