Streamcast F7C and F1C PSU Supply options

edwinbradford

Caliper Novice
Original poster
Apr 22, 2020
I'm finding it a little difficult to understand my power supply options for two SFF builds I'm itemising:

Build 01
Streamcom F7C *
MSI GT 1030 LP *
Ryzen 5 3600
Asus ROG Strix B450i
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB NVMe M.2
Samsung 850 PRO 256 GB 2.5 inch SATA *

Build 02
Streamcom F1C
Ryzen 5 3400G
Asus ROG Strix B450i
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB NVMe M.2

*Already owned

The motherboard listed is provisional and there's a good chance I'll wait until B550 motherboards come out in 2H 2020. It's been over ten years since I last built a PC and I've never built an SFF before so I'm a little confused about my PSU options. There's a really helpful resource on the Lone Industries site, after cross referencing pricing, availability, shipping (UK) and reviews it looks like the HDPLEX 200W DC-ATX and the MiniBox PicoPSU 160-XT are my best options, both will handle 200W which gives me plenty of headroom.

Where I'm struggling is trying to understand the specs for the "power brick" AC-DC Converter. I'd be grateful for any confirmation that I've understood the following correctly.
  • The HDPLEX 200W input voltage is 16-24V.
  • A 12v AC-DC converter with a wattage higher than 150W requires a 4 pin connector (read the customer feedback).
  • AC-DC converters above 150W (?) have voltages above 12v.
  • The picoPSU 160-XT input voltage is 12v.
  • The input connector for both the picoPSU and the HDPLEX is a "Barrell" connector (Type A?) not a 4 pin.
Based on the above it seems that if I want to go above 150W the HDPLEX 200W is my only option because although the picoPSU 160-XT will handle up to 200W there isn't a compatible AC-DC Converter that can supply that much power.

Lone

King of Cable Management
Lone Industries
Feb 25, 2015
loneindustries.com