Power Supply Question about power usage and more?

Thauner

Average Stuffer
Original poster
Oct 5, 2017
Hello forum.

Don't know if any of you guys have a sff case with a 8700 non k. I have really been trying to find similar setups.

I have the cpu as mentioned
Asus STRIX-I z370 gaming
Ram at 3200mhz (lpx 16gb)
M.2 ssd
Nano psu 160w
Noctua nh-l9i cooler
And it's in a streacom f1c ws Evo case with mod for more air.

Well, how do you guys with 160w plex and Pico psu's stay within the range? When Intel turbo boost kicks in there's short power max of over 100w (120w in my case)?

Please share with me, what kind of settings I should look into as I'm quite new to this size for a pc :)

Thanks!

Nightblade

Airflow Optimizer
Nov 29, 2017
well for one, the psu you mentioned is rated for 160w, but that doesn't mean its peak power is 160w. Essentially, if you need or have a short burst that is over 160w, it will be fine. Really, the only TDPs you need to worry about, as Josh and many others have mentioned on this forum, is the CPU TDP and the graphics card TDP. You didn't list a graphics card, so I'm assuming your planning on using the integrated graphics with the CPU.

A quick check at the 8700 spec page shows that the TDP is 65w. You should be fine.

Thauner

Average Stuffer
Original poster
Oct 5, 2017
You didn't list a graphics card, so I'm assuming your planning on using the integrated graphics with the CPU.

A quick check at the 8700 spec page shows that the TDP is 65w. You should be fine.

I'm doing Onboard graphics yes, I'm not a gamer.
I guess I am fine then, but I can't run a cpu stress test with Intel xtu, it gets to hot within minutes. Is that normal for everyone with these small builds using the noctua as cooler?

jtd871

SFF Guru
Jun 22, 2015
TDP is not total power draw of the component, it's how much power can effectively be shed through the heatsink. Since the power draw can be larger than the available heat transfer, that's why things get hot.