Log Question about NCase M1 cpu cooler

VCCaden

Minimal Tinkerer
Original poster
New User
Dec 14, 2020
Hi everyone!
I just ordered a Ncase M1 to use some hand me down parts from a friend. I’m a bit of a beginner so I have a couple questions. I’ll be getting a GTX 970, Intel i5 4690k, corsair vengeance ram (high profile) and several hdd’s. I want to put that in the case, from my understanding if I use the side bracket for the hdd’s and have the higher profile ram the cooler for the cpu can get in the way. Ideally, I wanted to get the Noctua NH-C14S, as that seems to be highly rated on the forums but there’s conflicting info online of it fitting with the hdd’s and the high profile ram. Has anyone set up the case like I’m proposing, and if so, what cooler did you choose? I’m hoping to future proof a bit with the cooler as well since I will eventually be upgrading the i5 4690k to a ryzen 5000 series.

Also, some posts mention motherboards making cooler placement difficult, if anyone has a 1150 socket mini itx motherboard, what board did you choose and what cooler did you put on it?

Thanks in advance for the help, sorry for my beginner questions. :)

Necere

Shrink Ray Wielder
NCASE
Feb 22, 2015
You most likely will not be able to fit the NH-C14S and use the HDD bracket. This has nothing to do with RAM, but with how far forward the C14S extends in the case. I'd recommend a different cooler if you're intent on using 3.5" HDDs. The NH-U9S is a safe choice.

Also, I'm not sure what you had in mind, but the M1 can fit a maximum of two 3.5" HDD with the included hardware.

Reactions: VCCaden

VCCaden

Minimal Tinkerer
Original poster
New User
Dec 14, 2020
You most likely will not be able to fit the NH-C14S and use the HDD bracket. This has nothing to do with RAM, but with how far forward the C14S extends in the case. I'd recommend a different cooler if you're intent on using 3.5" HDDs. The NH-U9S is a safe choice.