Power Supply & S4M Questions

SilveredEdge

Minimal Tinkerer
Original poster
Apr 14, 2018
Howdy All,

I'm new to the SFF scene and am eyeing the S4M by NFC/Josh. I'd ideally like to use it in the future for portability for gaming with friends and bringing it with me on trips if necessary. Ideally, I'd also like to try and set up a portable karaoke machine with this.

Firstly, I currently have a Core i5-2400 paired with a Gigabyte GA-H61N I don't foresee any problems using this older hardware, but just wanted to confirm. I'd like to reuse as much as possible where i can and upgrade later on. Currently, for a video card i have a XFX R7 250 Low Profile video card but in the short term will upgrade to a 1050ti / 1060. In the long term, based on how often I end up using it, i'll part of my main desktop rig and put in a 1070 or 1080 (or next generation), heat concerns not withstanding.

Secondly, I'm still trying to wrap my head around all the power supply options and terminology. I understand the diminutive size calls for changes in power delivery, but it is mostly over my head. I'm mainly going off what other people have posted and the NFC BOMS.
* Regarding brick-less builds, You need to use the C8 adapter to feed the AC current from the wall into the HDPlex. which then feeds the Dynamo DC power and that distributes powers to the PC components? I'm guessing this just needs a bit of soldering?
* Because the HDPlex 160 does the AC/DC conversion, that's what makes this possible without a brick?
* The beefier builds that require the brick, the brick does the conversion and is able to provide DC power & higher wattage directly (via the laptop-adapter plug) to power supplies like the HDPlex 400/Dynamo 200, correct?
* I think I'm most confused about the combo Dynamo 360/160. What is the intended use for this? I saw this thread am still quite a bit confused as to why you'd need to go this route?

Thanks for all the help yall, I can't wait to start working on this!